What's new

Speedtest

jcgriff2

Site Administrator, Forum General Manager, BSOD Kernel Dump Expert
Staff member
Joined
Feb 19, 2012
Posts
17,540
Location
New Jersey Shore
Running fast tonight!



(Obviously not my usual Verizon DSL!)
 

jcgriff2

Site Administrator, Forum General Manager, BSOD Kernel Dump Expert
Staff member
Joined
Feb 19, 2012
Posts
17,540
Location
New Jersey Shore
Nice!

Do they offer FIOS there?

It's been 2 blocks away here for 5++ years "available next year"!!!!

I'm usually DSL w/ these dismal numbers......

 

zigzag3143

Contributor, Sysnative Staff Emeritus
Joined
Mar 27, 2012
Posts
3,741
Two houses ago I had a running battle with Verizon. My ADSL took 11 months to install and FIOS came 4 months later. Verizon wanted an other "setup fee" for FIOS so I went elsewhere. As it turns out Optimum online had 100 Mb cable on my block and I didnt know it.

I hated to move big time.
 
Last edited:

jcgriff2

Site Administrator, Forum General Manager, BSOD Kernel Dump Expert
Staff member
Joined
Feb 19, 2012
Posts
17,540
Location
New Jersey Shore
The Comcast I'm running = "testing" an unsecured wifi. :smile:

My laptop picks up 20+ wifi SSIDs - 95% are secured.
 

jcgriff2

Site Administrator, Forum General Manager, BSOD Kernel Dump Expert
Staff member
Joined
Feb 19, 2012
Posts
17,540
Location
New Jersey Shore
Comcast slows down during the day. . .

04:26


07:11
 

zigzag3143

Contributor, Sysnative Staff Emeritus
Joined
Mar 27, 2012
Posts
3,741
Neighbors must be getting up. I live so close to the forest I have no other wifi's (secured or unsecured) which is a bit of a bummer if the power goes down. It is good because since no one else is on the same upstream router that I sometimes get a flat 50 Mb down. Good for those times when you have to download symbol packages.
 

N_J

Sysnative Staff, Emeritus, Contributor
Joined
Apr 14, 2012
Posts
207
Here is mine from NewWave...used to be Comcast but was bought out.

1993162252.png
 

A Guy

Righteous Dude
Joined
Jun 2, 2012
Posts
384
Location
Bay Area Peninsula
Only good thing about Comcast. Signed up years ago it was 6MB, they just keep increasing the speed. Cost of the internet hasn't gone up, while the cable certainly has.

1994644314.png

A Guy
 

2xg

Moderator, Networking, Contributor
Joined
Apr 11, 2012
Posts
335
Location
SoCal
Here's ours with Charter, no issues at all with the Speed. Using a Netgear Dual Band N Router. :smile9:

 

jcgriff2

Site Administrator, Forum General Manager, BSOD Kernel Dump Expert
Staff member
Joined
Feb 19, 2012
Posts
17,540
Location
New Jersey Shore
Anyone want to swap & get these great numbers?


Verizon DSL ... :eek:

 

2xg

Moderator, Networking, Contributor
Joined
Apr 11, 2012
Posts
335
Location
SoCal
Sorry John, not me, whoops.... :lol:
 

GZ

Visiting Expert
Joined
Apr 8, 2012
Posts
1,300
Location
New Jersey
John, how many computers/devices are connected to your home network using bandwidth?

Unfortunately I couldn't get the full 7Mb/s service at my location. here... I am stuck at a little over 5Mb/s... This was taken while streaming Star Trek: TOS from Netflix, so the numbers aren't entirely accurate.



It is sufficiently fast when I am not having connection problems.
 

jcgriff2

Site Administrator, Forum General Manager, BSOD Kernel Dump Expert
Staff member
Joined
Feb 19, 2012
Posts
17,540
Location
New Jersey Shore
Right now - my laptop (wifi) & Ethernet desktop. That's it.

I know exactly what verizon will say - "inside wiring problem", but I already ran a phone line to the box outside... that was the last screenshot.

I'd probably do better w/the hard-wired analog phone in the Lincoln + an old modem from 1990!!
 

2xg

Moderator, Networking, Contributor
Joined
Apr 11, 2012
Posts
335
Location
SoCal
John,

What's the Make and Model of the device(s)-Modem/Router that you have?
 
Top