What's new

Another problem installing DirectPlay

jrrich

Member
Joined
Feb 18, 2018
Messages
9
Hello

I'd like some help getting DirectPlay installed so I can play Mechwarriors 4. Mechwarriors installs correctly but on run pops up a system window indicating a requirement for DirectPlay. I've attempted installing it via the GUI-- it appears to complete successfully and requires a restart, but on restart, DirectPlay does not appear to be enabled. I've attempted the following steps based on searches:

1. disable AV and attempt via GUI-- same results as above (Skype is not installed on my system- I removed it awhile back via uninstall)
2. attempt via Programs and Features-- same results as above-- boxes check and it requests a restart but after restart not installed (tried both AV enabled and AV disabled)
3. reload into safe mode with networking, then attempt via Programs and Features-- same as above
4. Attempted via PowerShell and DISM using command line " dism /Online /enable-feature /FeatureName:"DirectPlay" /all"-- results below:

S C:\WINDOWS\system32> dism /Online /enable-feature /FeatureName:"DirectPlay" /All

Deployment Image Servicing and Management tool
Version: 10.0.16299.15

Image Version: 10.0.16299.125

Enabling feature(s)
[==========================100.0%==========================]

Error: 50

The operation is complete but DirectPlay feature was not enabled.
A required parent feature may not be enabled. You can use the /enable-feature /all option to automatically enable each parent feature from the following list. If the parent feature(s) are already enabled, refer to the log file for further diagnostics.
LegacyComponents

The DISM log file can be found at C:\WINDOWS\Logs\DISM\dism.log
PS C:\WINDOWS\system32> dism /Online /enable-feature /FeatureName:"DirectPlay" /all

5. Based on the results attempted to install "Legacy Components" using DISM. Same result bar the feature name.

I've found a closed thread onsite where a user had the exact issue. His issue was resolved by resetting Windows. I'm not willing to do that as the effort of reinstalling my apps and so on is far too much to be worth the candle. I'm hoping someone will be willing to research this with me and help me find a solution that does not involve such a drastic step.

DISM log attached.View attachment dism.zip
 

jrrich

Member
Joined
Feb 18, 2018
Messages
9
Hello,
Can you please try to reinstall the DirectX from this link and add the feature afterwards ?
Link
Many thanks,
Andy
Thanks for the response. Unfortunately, the installer quits with a message of "DirectX setup has determined that an newer or equivalent version of DirectX has been installed already. No installation is necessary".

Attempting to install via gui or DISM gives the same results as previously noted above.
 

jrrich

Member
Joined
Feb 18, 2018
Messages
9
Hi, can you please attach CBS.log?
Hi, I had used Safe Mode with Networking for the previous attempt, so to my knowledge there would be no CBS.log. I read through the previous thread and followed the instructions to boot to a clean system. The results were the same-- failure due to 'Legacy Components' not being installed.

Attached are the CBS and DISM logs from this afternoon's attempt.

View attachment Fresh CBS & DISM.zip
 

softwaremaniac

Moderator, BSOD Kernel Dump Expert, Windows Update Instructor
Staff member
Joined
Oct 9, 2014
Messages
18,379
Location
Croatia
Try enabling DirectPlay after you have disabled your antivirus temporarily.
 

jrrich

Member
Joined
Feb 18, 2018
Messages
9
Try enabling DirectPlay after you have disabled your antivirus temporarily.
Thought I had but after reading this I realized I missed the autoprotect setting. Redid the steps and tried again, same result.

View attachment latest logs.zip


So, a thought-- I'm wondering if the attempt is failing because of corrupt or missing registry components. Can someone who has a working iteration of DirectPlay find & provide the relevant registry entries for me to compare?

And before I forget, thank you for the help you've provided so far!
 

softwaremaniac

Moderator, BSOD Kernel Dump Expert, Windows Update Instructor
Staff member
Joined
Oct 9, 2014
Messages
18,379
Location
Croatia
I'm an Analyst and I'm researching and looking for errors to point me into the right direction.

Step#1 - DISM /RestoreHealth Scan
Warning:this fix is specific to the user in this thread. No one else should follow these instructions as it may cause more harm than good. If you are after assistance, please start a thread of your own.



  1. Right-click on the Start button and select Command Prompt (Admin)
  2. When command prompt opens, Copy (Ctrl+C) and Paste (Right-click > Paste) the following command into it, then press Enter
    Dism /Online /Cleanup-Image /RestoreHealth
  3. Once it finishes, copy and paste the following into the command-prompt window and press Enter. If prompted to overwrite the existing file go ahead.
    copy %windir%\logs\cbs\cbs.log "%userprofile%\Desktop\cbs.txt"
  4. Once this has completed please go to your Desktop and you will find CBS.txt => Please zip/upload to this thread.
    Please Note:: if the file is too big (over 7MB) to upload to your next post, please upload via a service such as One Drive or SendSpace and just provide the link.
 

jrrich

Member
Joined
Feb 18, 2018
Messages
9
I'm an Analyst and I'm researching and looking for errors to point me into the right direction.

Step#1 - DISM /RestoreHealth Scan
Warning:this fix is specific to the user in this thread. No one else should follow these instructions as it may cause more harm than good. If you are after assistance, please start a thread of your own.



  1. Right-click on the Start button and select Command Prompt (Admin)
  2. When command prompt opens, Copy (Ctrl+C) and Paste (Right-click > Paste) the following command into it, then press Enter
    Dism /Online /Cleanup-Image /RestoreHealth
  3. Once it finishes, copy and paste the following into the command-prompt window and press Enter. If prompted to overwrite the existing file go ahead.
    copy %windir%\logs\cbs\cbs.log "%userprofile%\Desktop\cbs.txt"
  4. Once this has completed please go to your Desktop and you will find CBS.txt => Please zip/upload to this thread.
    Please Note:: if the file is too big (over 7MB) to upload to your next post, please upload via a service such as One Drive or SendSpace and just provide the link.
Syntax on the copy command was not accepted by PowerShell, so I substituted fully qualified path.

Here's the file:

https://1drv.ms/t/s!AplZEG1ZDY8dg0qae4diA-z7HqiX
 

softwaremaniac

Moderator, BSOD Kernel Dump Expert, Windows Update Instructor
Staff member
Joined
Oct 9, 2014
Messages
18,379
Location
Croatia
When you attempt to enable it, you still get the Error 50?
 

softwaremaniac

Moderator, BSOD Kernel Dump Expert, Windows Update Instructor
Staff member
Joined
Oct 9, 2014
Messages
18,379
Location
Croatia
Run this again, but from CMD as Admin: dism /Online /enable-feature /FeatureName:"DirectPlay" /All
 

jrrich

Member
Joined
Feb 18, 2018
Messages
9
Run this again, but from CMD as Admin: dism /Online /enable-feature /FeatureName:"DirectPlay" /All
- Checked my user account-- Administrator
- opened a command prompt (instead of PowerShell, which I had been using) by right-click on shortcut on desktop 'Run as Administrator'
- copy/paste the exact command from your reply
- error 50
 

jrrich

Member
Joined
Feb 18, 2018
Messages
9
Run this again, but from CMD as Admin: dism /Online /enable-feature /FeatureName:"DirectPlay" /All
- Checked my user account-- Administrator
- opened a command prompt (instead of PowerShell, which I had been using) by right-click on shortcut on desktop 'Run as Administrator'
- copy/paste the exact command from your reply
- error 50
So there appears to be a deeper issue than just DirectPlay here, as Windows Updates are failing with similar symptoms as the DirectPlay installation. The most recent rollup update is presenting itself in Action Center as requiring a reload to complete- on reloading it does not install, nor generate an error message, but simply presents itself in the Action Center again.

I thank you for your assistance in attempting to help me clear up the issue with DirectPlay, but I think at this point I'm just going to go the wipe/reinstall route.

Cheers!

JR
 

softwaremaniac

Moderator, BSOD Kernel Dump Expert, Windows Update Instructor
Staff member
Joined
Oct 9, 2014
Messages
18,379
Location
Croatia
Thanks for letting me know. If you wish to spend more time on the issue, I'll happily have a look.
 

jrrich

Member
Joined
Feb 18, 2018
Messages
9
Thanks for letting me know. If you wish to spend more time on the issue, I'll happily have a look.
No problem, thanks for working with me on it.

To put this to bed:

I strongly suspect that the core issue is a problem with BITS. I ran the Update Failure Diagnostic tool from Microsoft repeatedly over the last couple of days and it consistently attempted to start/restart that service every time.
 

softwaremaniac

Moderator, BSOD Kernel Dump Expert, Windows Update Instructor
Staff member
Joined
Oct 9, 2014
Messages
18,379
Location
Croatia
No problem. Have you tried resetting WU components?
 
Top