What's new

VMware Workstation 15.0.2. crashes

softwaremaniac

Moderator, BSOD Kernel Dump Expert, Windows Update Instructor
Staff member
Joined
Oct 9, 2014
Messages
18,417
Location
Croatia
I would appreciate if someone had a look. This has been driving me crazy today. I cannot do anything update wise without this.

No changes have been made to the host whatsoever.

Things I have tried:

Run as Admin
Rename vmware.exe to zagreb.exe
Reinstalling v15 (repair)
Uninstalling and reinstalling from scratch.
Moving the VM directory.
Checked whether 3d acceleration was enabled.
Checked whether favorites.vmls was present.
Checked for driver remnants.

I'd rather avoid contacting the support, because the licence was obtained through the university (as I'm a student) and I would have to contact our IT dept and so on and so forth, and the guy is slower than a snail...
 

Attachments

Tekno Venus

Senior Administrator, Site Designer
Staff member
Joined
Jul 21, 2012
Messages
6,068
Location
UK
When does this error appear? When starting a VM or when starting VMWare Workstation? If it's upon starting a VM, is it all VMs or just the Windows Server 2012 R2 VM?
 

softwaremaniac

Moderator, BSOD Kernel Dump Expert, Windows Update Instructor
Staff member
Joined
Oct 9, 2014
Messages
18,417
Location
Croatia
I start any VM, the VM works fine for a minute or two, then everything stops and returns the error.
 

Tekno Venus

Senior Administrator, Site Designer
Staff member
Joined
Jul 21, 2012
Messages
6,068
Location
UK
Might be going down the wrong route, but I'm seeing a lot of stuff related to the guest tools.

What happens if you start a new VM from a blank ISO and try to start the installation of the VM? Does it crash during that (i.e. on a VM without guest tools installed)
 

Tekno Venus

Senior Administrator, Site Designer
Staff member
Joined
Jul 21, 2012
Messages
6,068
Location
UK
Hmmm... Here's where the crash is occuring:

PHP:
/*
 *-----------------------------------------------------------------------------
 *
 * Unicode_AllocWithLength --
 *
 *      Allocates a new Unicode string given a buffer with both length
 *      in bytes and string encoding specified.
 *
 *      If lengthInBytes is -1, then buffer must be NUL-terminated.
 *      Otherwise, buffer must be of the specified length, but does
 *      not need to be NUL-terminated.
 *
 *	If buffer is NULL, then NULL is returned.
 *	In this case, lengthInBytes must be 0 or -1, consistent with
 *	an empty string.
 *
 *      Note that regardless of the encoding of the buffer passed to this
 *      function, the returned string can hold any Unicode characters.
 *
 *      If the buffer contains an invalid sequence of the specified
 *      encoding or memory could not be allocated, logs the buffer,
 *      and panics.
 *
 * Results:
 *      An allocated Unicode string containing the decoded characters
 *      in buffer, or NULL if input is NULL.
 *	Caller must pass the string to free to free.
 *
 * Side effects:
 *      None
 *
 *-----------------------------------------------------------------------------
 */

char *
Unicode_AllocWithLength(const void *buffer,       // IN:
                        ssize_t lengthInBytes,    // IN:
                        StringEncoding encoding)  // IN:
{
   char *result;

   ASSERT(lengthInBytes >= 0 || lengthInBytes == -1);

   if (buffer == NULL) {
      ASSERT(lengthInBytes <= 0);
      return NULL;
   }

   encoding = Unicode_ResolveEncoding(encoding);

   if (lengthInBytes == -1) {
      lengthInBytes = Unicode_LengthInBytes(buffer, encoding);
   }

   result = UnicodeAllocInternal(buffer, lengthInBytes, encoding, FALSE);

   if (result == NULL) {
      char *escapedBuffer = Unicode_EscapeBuffer(buffer, lengthInBytes,
                                                 encoding);

      /*
       * Log and panic on failure.
       */

      Log("%s: Couldn't convert invalid buffer [%s] from %s to Unicode.\n",
          __FUNCTION__,
          escapedBuffer ? escapedBuffer : "(couldn't escape bytes)",
          Unicode_EncodingEnumToName(encoding));
      free(escapedBuffer);
      PANIC();
   }

   return result;
}
 

Tekno Venus

Senior Administrator, Site Designer
Staff member
Joined
Jul 21, 2012
Messages
6,068
Location
UK
Stupid question, you've rebooted your PC, right? :p
 

Tekno Venus

Senior Administrator, Site Designer
Staff member
Joined
Jul 21, 2012
Messages
6,068
Location
UK
Assumed as much :p

It looks like (at least in the log you sent) in this instance it's crashing when doing clipboard related things

Code:
CoreDump_SetUnhandledExceptionFilter
CoreDump_SetUnhandledExceptionFilter
Util_Backtrace
Panic_Panic
Panic <==== This and above are handling the crash, 
Unicode_AllocWithLength <== Where the crash is occuring. Function allocates a new Unicode string given a buffer with both length in bytes and string encoding specified. I can only assume there's something in/on the clipboard that it can't do unicode conversion on
DnD_LocalStringToCPString <== No documentation on this, but DnD is the drag-and-drop code for VMWare. Looks like this code converts the string in the local clipboard to one that can be read by the guest
DnD_SetCPClipboardFromLocalText <== Sets the clipboard in the guest to the contents of the local clipboard
wui::dnd::CopyPaste::UpdateRemoteClipboard <== Pretty self expanatory function
DllGetClassObject
DllGetClassObject
cui::Capability::FailureReasonList::begin
cui::Capability::FailureReasonList::begin
cui::VMStatus::User::GetIdleDuration
vmdb::Context::Callback
Vmdb_ProcessCallbacks
Vmdb_ParseQuery
GetAsyncKeyState
IsRectEmpty
IsRectEmpty
KiUserCallbackDispatcher
Do you have any other logs from other crashes?
 

Tekno Venus

Senior Administrator, Site Designer
Staff member
Joined
Jul 21, 2012
Messages
6,068
Location
UK
There should be a minidump at: C:\Users\user\AppData\Local\Temp\vmware-user\zagreb.dmp

Can you upload it?
 

Tekno Venus

Senior Administrator, Site Designer
Staff member
Joined
Jul 21, 2012
Messages
6,068
Location
UK
Can you try disabling copy/paste and drag&drop in your guest VMs to test:

2018-11-30 01_23_48-Window.png
 

softwaremaniac

Moderator, BSOD Kernel Dump Expert, Windows Update Instructor
Staff member
Joined
Oct 9, 2014
Messages
18,417
Location
Croatia
As soon as I disabled C/P, the crashes stopped, but I need that function for WU. What may have caused it to go crazy?
 

Tekno Venus

Senior Administrator, Site Designer
Staff member
Joined
Jul 21, 2012
Messages
6,068
Location
UK
No idea what could be causing it right now, you'd probably need to speak to VMWare about that... From the log, it looks like it's failing to do a unicode conversion on the contents of the clipboard (see the code I posted earlier)

Assume you don't have anything weird on your clipboard or haven't changed any language settings or anything?

Can you enable shared folders to allow you to move stuff between VMs and your host PC?
 

softwaremaniac

Moderator, BSOD Kernel Dump Expert, Windows Update Instructor
Staff member
Joined
Oct 9, 2014
Messages
18,417
Location
Croatia
No, the first time I saw this happen was when I copied some files to be sourced from my VM for a fix. Then it crashed and went haywire, but nothing special about them. I haven't touched lang settings. I can try that, yes.
 

softwaremaniac

Moderator, BSOD Kernel Dump Expert, Windows Update Instructor
Staff member
Joined
Oct 9, 2014
Messages
18,417
Location
Croatia
Interestingly, I've re-enabled C/P, but the issue has vanished for now. I'll keep an eye out. Thanks for the assist.
 

niemiro

Senior Administrator, Windows Update Expert, Developer
Staff member
Joined
Mar 2, 2012
Messages
8,397
Location
District 12

softwaremaniac

Moderator, BSOD Kernel Dump Expert, Windows Update Instructor
Staff member
Joined
Oct 9, 2014
Messages
18,417
Location
Croatia
I did, but back when it was initially released. It works for now, so I won't mess around much, but I'll leave this open for a week or so, just to make sure.
 

softwaremaniac

Moderator, BSOD Kernel Dump Expert, Windows Update Instructor
Staff member
Joined
Oct 9, 2014
Messages
18,417
Location
Croatia
Found the root cause, it was Richard all along :grin1: SFG is having trouble with one log, when I copied it in, it crashed and brought VMware to its knees.

Please shoot me a msg on FB and we'll investigate.
 
Top