What's new

Stumped by Win7 - Mouse freezes

Deek

Well-known member
Joined
Apr 9, 2013
Messages
141
Location
Sacramento, Ca
Gents, hopefully someone can point me at a tool to figure this one out or has seen it in the past.

Win 7x64, 16GB ram, Dell Precision 3510 Laptop - Mouse (built in track pad) freezes at random intervals for a varying amount of time.

Here is what I have tried:
- Replaced HDD with SSD (orig HDD was recalibrating or spinning down during freeze, but it was not the root issue)
- Check disk - no errors
- SFC no corruptions
- MWB and Eset cans found nothing
- External Eset scan found nothing
- Process explorer gives no no clue to a process eating cycles or causing a deadlock
- Same behavior with a USB mouse plugged into USB port
- *****When using the PC through Screenconnect (remote agent) the problem is not there??????*****
- Updated Bios
- Updated Trackpad drivers and tried MS built in driver for trackpad
- Disabled all startup items
- Disabled all scheduled task
- Updated chipset drivers
- Issue not present in Safe Mode

I am at a loss? Can anyone point me to a utility that might help point to the cause??

Thanks, Deek
 

Digerati

Forum Moderator, Hardware
Staff member
Joined
Aug 28, 2012
Messages
3,760
Location
Nebraska, USA
- Same behavior with a USB mouse plugged into USB port
:( This throws a wrench in the works.

- Issue not present in Safe Mode
And another wrench. :( The fact it works fine in Safe Mode suggests it could be a driver issue. But the fact an external mouse does the same thing suggests the trackpad driver is not the problem. :huh:

So the problem was happening before replacing the HDD with the SSD, correct? Did it ever work correctly? And when you moved to the SSD, did you use an image file or did you do a fresh re-install of Windows?
 

Deek

Well-known member
Joined
Apr 9, 2013
Messages
141
Location
Sacramento, Ca
- Same behavior with a USB mouse plugged into USB port
:( This throws a wrench in the works.

- Issue not present in Safe Mode
And another wrench. :( The fact it works fine in Safe Mode suggests it could be a driver issue. But the fact an external mouse does the same thing suggests the trackpad driver is not the problem. :huh:

So the problem was happening before replacing the HDD with the SSD, correct? Did it ever work correctly? And when you moved to the SSD, did you use an image file or did you do a fresh re-install of Windows?

Yes the problem was happening before the SSD, It first we thought it was HDD related because the HDD would change sound whenever the mouse locked.

I agree, lots of wrenches in to works, that is why I am here, usually I can solve this sort of thing on my own.

-The issue started suddenly.
-Moved to SSD with a clone, it was not a fresh install. I want to avoid that.
-I should also mention all AV and malware protection was removed as a diagnostic step.
 

Deek

Well-known member
Joined
Apr 9, 2013
Messages
141
Location
Sacramento, Ca
Ok more info:

-I updated Every driver available from dell
-The Keyboard it locked out as well when the mouse freezes
-No change in behavior?
 

Digerati

Forum Moderator, Hardware
Staff member
Joined
Aug 28, 2012
Messages
3,760
Location
Nebraska, USA
I understand wanting to avoid a fresh install - as that should always be a last ditch effort. But it appears you brought the problem over with you in the old image.

I hope you enabled your security again, since disabling it did not help.

I am wondering if keyboard, mouse and touchpad freezes are just symptoms of a bigger problem. That is, it looks like your computer is freezing the keyboard and mouse no longer working is just one of the symptoms.

https://www.dell.com/support/article/us/en/04/sln129591/system-locks-up-freezes-or-an-error-occurs?lang=en

BTW, there are a lot of fine lady experts on this site too, not just gents!
 

Deek

Well-known member
Joined
Apr 9, 2013
Messages
141
Location
Sacramento, Ca
[RESOLVED] I found a hidden service RTNotify.exe, which was left behind after uninstalling Viper Business. I manually dug through the registry deleting entries, rebooted, deleted the C:\ProgramData\Viperxxx directory, Used CCleaner to do the rest of the registry cleanup and all was well!!

Thanks for the help though, sometime it helps just to post when frustrated ;-)
 

Digerati

Forum Moderator, Hardware
Staff member
Joined
Aug 28, 2012
Messages
3,760
Location
Nebraska, USA
I am glad you go it sorted out and thanks for posting your solution/followup! :)
 
Top