What's new

[SOLVED] Samsung Magician stops WMI at Boot

lumpy95

Well-known member
Joined
Sep 7, 2018
Posts
120
Location
Mojave Desert, CA
I installed a Samsung 850 Pro 512 GB SSD and Samsung Magician on my W7 Pro computer on 3/5/2017 and it has been working great up until last week. I have not done any updates or anything except use it since I did WU's in Sept.
Last week when I booted up in the morning I noticed that the UPS widget wouldn't show battery strength and the internet refused to connect. Then a message window popped up after awhile (shown below) and on every boot the same thing happens. If I click on the "yes" button it connects to the internet and the UPS widget shows correctly and everything runs fine.
WMI message.JPG

I have googled it and I see that there are many instances of it happening but I have seen no fix for it. Anybody out there know of a fix and what is causing this to happen???
Thanks
 

dmccoy

BSOD Kernel Dump Analyst
Joined
Nov 27, 2017
Posts
230
The first thing I recommend trying is to create a Restore point and uninstall Samsung Magician to see if that is what is causing this issue or not.
 

lumpy95

Well-known member
Joined
Sep 7, 2018
Posts
120
Location
Mojave Desert, CA
Ok,
1- I downloaded a zipped version of Samsung Magician to my download folder (just in case) :smile9:
2- I made a Restore Point.
3- I uninstalled Samsung Magician from Programs & Features.
4- I restarted and at first the UPS widget wouldn't show battery strength and the internet refused to connect BUT then the widget started working and it connected to the internet. No WMI message window.
I assume that the computer was searching for Magician and finally couldn't find it.
Tomorrow morning will be the test on a cold bootup. If it boots ok in the morning I guess I should try to install the Magician software I downloaded and see if it shows the message on restart?? Or do you have a different path to follow?
My real concern over all of this is why, after more than a year, it suddenly started having an effect on WMI.
Thanks for the reply
 

dmccoy

BSOD Kernel Dump Analyst
Joined
Nov 27, 2017
Posts
230
Your approach is a good start. Let me know your results tomorrow.
 

Digerati

Forum Moderator, Hardware
Staff member
Joined
Aug 28, 2012
Posts
3,767
Location
Nebraska, USA
FTR, I have been using Samsung SSDs, for about 8 years now, starting with Windows 7. I have never found Samsung Magician helpful, except to run Secure Erase which I have only had to do once in 8 years. In fact, I found Samsung Magician to be more of a pain than of any value.

It is critical to note operating systems, including Windows 7, know how to use and manage SSDs just fine without any 3rd party middleman software. If me, I would not reinstall it.
 

lumpy95

Well-known member
Joined
Sep 7, 2018
Posts
120
Location
Mojave Desert, CA
This morning it's still taking a long time to boot up and the UPS widget wouldn't show battery strength and the internet wouldn't connect for awhile, but finally did (there are no more WMI messages though). I then decided to run chkdsk and rebooted and the same thing happens.
Another anomaly is that my other computers are no longer showing up in File Explorer under network (on both W7 & W10 computers), the only computer that shows up is the W10 computer that just upgraded to 1803 Tuesday morning and the only computer that shows up on my W10 computer is itself in File Explorer. I can type in the other computer share and get to it ie: \\other computer\C or D but that is the only way to access them. They were all showing up fine until yesterday afternoon (thursday).
My conclusion is that something else is going on and when I started getting that WMI message it was a pre cursor to whatever has changed.
 

lumpy95

Well-known member
Joined
Sep 7, 2018
Posts
120
Location
Mojave Desert, CA
FTR, I have been using Samsung SSDs, for about 8 years now, starting with Windows 7. I have never found Samsung Magician helpful, except to run Secure Erase which I have only had to do once in 8 years. In fact, I found Samsung Magician to be more of a pain than of any value.

It is critical to note operating systems, including Windows 7, know how to use and manage SSDs just fine without any 3rd party middleman software. If me, I would not reinstall it.
Does W7 run TRIM naturally without Magician?
 

Digerati

Forum Moderator, Hardware
Staff member
Joined
Aug 28, 2012
Posts
3,767
Location
Nebraska, USA
Not sure what you mean by "naturally" but yes. With Windows 7 and above, if the SSD supports TRIM (some early ones didn't) when the SSD reports its presence in the BIOS, the OS is supposed to (1) never run defrag on the SSD and (2) enable TRIM for it.

This was a bit confusing with Windows 7 because the optimization tool was still called Disk Defrag. But it didn't defrag SSDs. That's why they renamed the feature to Disk Optimize in W8/W10.

You can follow the steps here to verify TRIM is enabled and if for some reason it is not, it shows how to enable it.
 

satrow

Sysnative Staff, BSOD Kernel Dump Analyst
Joined
Apr 12, 2012
Posts
794
Location
Cymru
You can follow the steps here to verify TRIM is enabled and if for some reason it is not, it shows how to enable it.
Like most articles on the topic of TRIM, it's wrong. Fsutil only reports on whether TRIM is enabled in the OS, it doesn't/cannot test whether TRIM is active. 'Bad' SATA controller drivers, even some of those supplied by MS via Windows Update, can block TRIM calls and prevent updating the firmware on attached drives.

I use Hard Disk Sentinel (there's a trial version) to check, there's also TrimCheck, which might be more tricky to use.

Re Magician - the main reason to use it imo is for checking for/installing firmware updates, it doesn't need to be running all the time - unless perhaps you suspect your SSD has serious issues. Quarterly for a quick checkup should be fine for most users. The fewer drivers there are loading, esp. from 3rd parties, the more stable the PC is likely to be and the lower the chances of bugchecks etc.
 

lumpy95

Well-known member
Joined
Sep 7, 2018
Posts
120
Location
Mojave Desert, CA
@Satrow
I remember going through all that with you when I first installed the SSD (over at WS), I think the thread may be gone now though with the upheaval over there and loss of threads.
 

lumpy95

Well-known member
Joined
Sep 7, 2018
Posts
120
Location
Mojave Desert, CA
I ran TrimCheck and it says that Trim appears to be working.
There was a change this afternoon on computers showing up, all computers showed up in File Explorer on W10 machine and were accessible. The W7 machine only shows the W10 machine no other machines so something has changed the network on the W7 machine!!
 

Digerati

Forum Moderator, Hardware
Staff member
Joined
Aug 28, 2012
Posts
3,767
Location
Nebraska, USA
Like most articles on the topic of TRIM, it's wrong.
I've encountered this debate multiple times - and after checking literally 100s of SSDs on W7, W8 and W10 systems, I have never seen a case where TRIM was reported to be enabled, but TRIMcheck said it was not working/active. So I personally think the steps I indicated above are plenty.

But if another warm fuzzy is still needed, I recommend TRIMcheck. I don't find it tricky to use at all. You just save it to the SSD, run it and exit the program, wait 15 - 30 seconds and run it again. If TRIM is truly enabled and working, after running TRIMCheck the 2nd time, it will report if TRIM is working or not.
 

satrow

Sysnative Staff, BSOD Kernel Dump Analyst
Joined
Apr 12, 2012
Posts
794
Location
Cymru
Well, I've encountered TRIM not working multiple times; January 2012, Nvidia chipset, LGA775 Wolfdale C2D, drivers from disc and site both refused to 'see' Crucial M4 to enable firmware update for the 5200 hours bug, HDS reported no active TRIM - switched to the stock W7 drivers, TRIM active, firmware updated. Current Ivy 'board with the then latest Intel drivers, no TRIM reported, rolled back to stock W7, HDS reported TRIM as active. Different Ivy 'board upgraded to the 1st revision AU (1607), post-upgrade WU 'updated' the Intel driver - no TRIM, rolled back to the (W7 era) stock driver, TRIM active.

Perhaps TRIMcheck conflates a good inbuilt GC (garbage collection) routine with TRIM doing the cleanup, I don't know but FSUTIL certainly does not/cannot tell you if TRIM is really active.
 

Digerati

Forum Moderator, Hardware
Staff member
Joined
Aug 28, 2012
Posts
3,767
Location
Nebraska, USA
switched to the stock W7 drivers, TRIM active, firmware updated.
rolled back to stock W7, HDS reported TRIM as active.
no TRIM, rolled back to the (W7 era) stock driver, TRIM active.
It seems to me you just justified my original claim to just let Windows manage things. Windows knows how to properly setup, manage, and keep optimized SSDs just fine - including TRIM. No 3rd party programs are needed and often, as I noted above and you just verified, they are more of a pain than of value.
 

lumpy95

Well-known member
Joined
Sep 7, 2018
Posts
120
Location
Mojave Desert, CA
As I said earlier, TrimCheck reports that Trim is working.
On the Networking issue I spoke of, on the W7 machine I looked at the Windows Features in Control Panel this morning and I noticed that SMB 1 is no longer there. Do I need to turn on the Features that I outlined in the screenshot below??
Win features.JPG
 

lumpy95

Well-known member
Joined
Sep 7, 2018
Posts
120
Location
Mojave Desert, CA
Since deleting Samsung Magician I no longer get the WMI error window but at bootup on the W7 machine it's still taking forever to connect to the internet and the UPS power widget will not display until it does connect and after it does connect I never know what computers (if any) are going to show up in Windows Explorer/Network.
I'm thinking that this could all be tied to the "Missing" SMB 1.0/2.0/3.0 in Windows Features. Is my thinking correct on that??
I have no idea when/how the SMB was removed (maybe a WU?). I googled and found this: https://support.microsoft.com/en-gb/help/2696547/how-to-detect-enable-and-disable-smbv1-smbv2-and-smbv3-in-windows-and
It involves either PowerShell or a Registry edit. I'm not sure how to add the keys needed in the registry and I know nothing about PowerShell.
Any answers/help would be appreciated.
 

dmccoy

BSOD Kernel Dump Analyst
Joined
Nov 27, 2017
Posts
230
Is this your only Win 7 computer?

Try the following. If it does not work then I recommend enabling smb1 which is required to run computer browser service.

  1. Start the "Function Discovery Provider Host" and "Function Discovery Resource Publication" services, and then set them to Automatic (Delayed Start).
  2. When you open Explorer Network, enable network discovery when you are prompted.
 

lumpy95

Well-known member
Joined
Sep 7, 2018
Posts
120
Location
Mojave Desert, CA
Is this your only Win 7 computer?
No, there is another W7 computer with a shared folder on it.
This morning my W7 machine did it's usual dance on startup (taking awhile to connect etc.) and then I opened Win Explorer and after awhile all the computers showed up. They also show up on my W10 machine.
As per your advice I went to Services and Function Discovery Provider Host was running but set to manual so I changed it to Automatic. Function Discovery Resource Publication was stopped, so I started it and set it to Automatic.
I went back to Win Explorer and after quite some time, all computers showed up in the Network list.
So the computers are now showing up but it takes a long time for them to appear on the W7 machine.
 
Top