What's new

Ram Upgrading on Acer laptop

Octo

Member
Joined
Aug 11, 2018
Messages
7
I might sound like a cheap person, but I'm trying to improve with the stuff I have at my disposal
I had a Lenovo G480-20156 for a while getting dust, and I thought that I could put its 4gb ram stick in my Acer ES15-571-37F4 (which is barely holding up with school) since both are DDR3.
Now I have it in place, 2 4gb ddr3 sticks are connected inside the Acer, but it can't detect it in the resource manager nor the BIOS.}

Any help is appreciated.

EDIT: Yes, I double-checked everything I could.
 

Octo

Member
Joined
Aug 11, 2018
Messages
7
I actually posted without looking at anything and I'm sorry for that. Totally forgot to publish the specs.
Turns out that speccy and task manager both detect the new card and say that I have 8gb of ram but I'm only allowed to use 4gb. I wanna know what's happening and how can I access the other 4gb.
The speccy thingy: http://speccy.piriform.com/results/GeukEtIYkmJxoBieTPsrelT
 

softwaremaniac

Moderator, BSOD Kernel Dump Expert, Windows Update Instructor
Staff member
Joined
Oct 9, 2014
Messages
18,417
Location
Croatia
Hello and welcome!

Try different slots, reseating the RAM and testing it to ensure it isn't faulty.
 

Octo

Member
Joined
Aug 11, 2018
Messages
7
Thanks for your answer, but I actually checked that and it doesn't do anything different, also I only have 2 slots. Something I noticed is that is detected as virtual memory.
What else can I do to access the rest of my ram? Does forcing my computer to go over the first 4gb will activate the second card? If not, what hope is left?
 

softwaremaniac

Moderator, BSOD Kernel Dump Expert, Windows Update Instructor
Staff member
Joined
Oct 9, 2014
Messages
18,417
Location
Croatia
The fact that the RAM is not seen by the BIOS is worrying. Have you tried changing the RAM sticks between the two slots. Are both RAM sticks on the QVL?
 

Digerati

Forum Moderator, Hardware
Staff member
Joined
Aug 28, 2012
Messages
3,763
Location
Nebraska, USA
Not sure that RAM is compatible. The specs of the Acer here says it it supports DDR3L. The L means low voltage. Sadly, the specs are not very clear but it also says standard RAM is 4Gb. It does not say what the maximum supported is. CNET, however says it supports up to 16GB. But again, it has to be compatible RAM. Just because something says DDR3, that does not mean any DDR3 is supported.

Have you upgraded the BIOS?

You might also run the Crucial System Scanner. This will tell you what is compatible with your system.

I might sound like a cheap person, but I'm trying to improve with the stuff I have at my disposal
Nothing wrong with that. But you generally have much better luck with PCs and not notebooks. Most PCs comply with the ATX Form Factor standard which makes interchanging parts from 1000s of different manufacturers much easier. There is no such standard for notebooks (:frown6: :censored2: :mad7:).
 

plodr

Sysnative Staff, Contributor
Joined
Sep 11, 2016
Messages
302
I also went searching yesterday. I always check crucial because the RAM there is guaranteed to work.
RAM & SSD Upgrades | Acer Aspire ES1-571 | Crucial.com
DDR3 PC3-12800 • CL=11 • Unbuffered • NON-ECC • DDR3-1600 • 1.35V

The Lenovo said this
RAM & SSD Upgrades | Lenovo Lenovo G480 | Crucial.com
DDR3 PC3-14900 • CL=13 • Unbuffered • NON-ECC • DDR3-1866 • 1.35V •

Apparently the latency of 13 in the Lenovo is slower than that in the Acer. Are the sticks interchangeable? I'm not a RAM expert so I can't answer that.

Also, both your laptops have additional numbers after the main model so perhap's crucial information is not for exactly the laptops you own.
 

xilolee

Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Dec 31, 2013
Messages
2,314
Location
World, Europe, Italy
Supported by CPU i3-5005U: Max 16GB, Memory Types: DDR3L 1333/1600 and LPDDR 1333/1600

System Memory:
- Dual-channel DDR3L SDRAM support
- Up to 8 GB of DDR3L system memory, upgradable to 16 GB using two soDIMM modules
Aspire ES1-571 (NX.GCEEA.005) specs: Aspire ES1-571 | Laptops - Tech Specs & Reviews - Acer
New bios 1.06 (2018/05/18) available: Product support

Added ram RMT3160ED58E9W1600 is "low profile Unbuffered SODIMM modules with 30.00mm height based DDR3 technology. DIMMs are available as No-ECC (x64) modules." and "JEDEC Standard with 1.5 V (±0.075 V) power supply".
Other details: 4GB, DDR3-1600/PC3-12800, CL11, 204-Pins, Non-ECC, Unbuffered, 1.5V, Chips on both sides: Yes, Chips per side: 8, Total number of chips: 16.
I.e., it isn't low voltage.

I'm not sure and I don't think it will be recognized after the bios upgrade, but you could try (reading carefully their instructions).
 
Last edited:

Digerati

Forum Moderator, Hardware
Staff member
Joined
Aug 28, 2012
Messages
3,763
Location
Nebraska, USA
@CondesComputers - while your help is greatly appreciated, please take notice of the timestamps and content of the last reply. This thread sat dormant for 2 1/2 months and the OP already acknowledged xilolee's last reply. Please do not dredge up old threads.

Thanks
 
Top