What's new

Power supply or Motherboard

rubygirl

Active member
Joined
Mar 2, 2015
Messages
38
Location
Pennsylvania
Booted my PC up I have no monitor(power won't even turn on). No power or hdd ledsi on front panel not working, fans are running, video card running with green light,hdds are spinning.All fans are running.Orange, blue and green leds on MB are all on when power is on. Blue led on when power is off reinstalled all devices
connectors etch Any Help would be appreciated. Power supply or MB ? Or something else all together ?.
 

softwaremaniac

Moderator, BSOD Kernel Dump Expert, Windows Update Instructor
Staff member
Joined
Oct 9, 2014
Messages
18,417
Location
Croatia
Hi! Do you have another monitor to try?

Have you checked if all the cables are securely in place?

Have you tried a different wall outlet?
 

rubygirl

Active member
Joined
Mar 2, 2015
Messages
38
Location
Pennsylvania
I will not be able to get a monitor until tomorrow . I did reinsert all cables and ram. Also tried a different outlet. About the monitor, could that be the problem for the whole system ?
 

Digerati

Forum Moderator, Hardware
Staff member
Joined
Aug 28, 2012
Messages
3,763
Location
Nebraska, USA
About the monitor, could that be the problem for the whole system ?
Not sure what you mean by "whole system". You said in your opening post you have lit LEDs and spinning fans. So clearly, the "whole system" is not dead.

The problem is, because you cannot see what is happening, you don't know if the system is trying to boot, or not. That's why you need to try another monitor to see if you get the same results.

As for no monitor until tomorrow, note that most TVs made in recent years support computer input too.
 

rubygirl

Active member
Joined
Mar 2, 2015
Messages
38
Location
Pennsylvania
Do you mean take my monitor and plug it in to the TV to see if it works ? Also shouldn't the monitor turn on just plugged in to an outlet?
 

Digerati

Forum Moderator, Hardware
Staff member
Joined
Aug 28, 2012
Messages
3,763
Location
Nebraska, USA
Do you mean take my monitor and plug it in to the TV to see if it works ?
No. I mean plug your computer into the TV. A TV is just a big monitor with a built-in tuner and speakers. Most monitors accept inputs from several sources, including a cable box, DVD/Blue-ray player, antenna, computer, A/V receiver and more.
Also shouldn't the monitor turn on just plugged in to an outlet?
Yes (once you press the power button). But of course you won't see much on the screen, if anything. But you should see a power on light, and normally you might see a "Searching for signal" (or something similar) message on the screen.

But that does not tell you the monitor is working properly. It needs a signal from the computer for that.
 

rubygirl

Active member
Joined
Mar 2, 2015
Messages
38
Location
Pennsylvania
Tried a different monitor and it is not receiving any signal. Also I would like to say again that the front panel on my tower the power and had leds are not on when the PC is started.
 

Digerati

Forum Moderator, Hardware
Staff member
Joined
Aug 28, 2012
Messages
3,763
Location
Nebraska, USA
Then for sure, I would try a different PSU to make sure it is not that since everything else inside the computer depends on good, clean power.
 

Digerati

Forum Moderator, Hardware
Staff member
Joined
Aug 28, 2012
Messages
3,763
Location
Nebraska, USA
So a weak psi can prevent windows from booting and limiting power to gpu,cpu and other devices. like a printer
Not a printer since they have their own power supplies. But yes, a weak PSU can prevent a computer from booting. But a "weak" PSU would likely cause boot problems from day one. So your problem may be a failing PSU.

Note too that PC power supplies supply 3 different voltages, 12V, 5V and 3.3V, to various points inside the computer. It is not uncommon to lose one of those but not the others. So fans may still spin, for example, but the computer might not boot because other voltages are missing.

At any rate, again, because EVERYTHING inside the computer depends on good power, you need to either confirm your PSU is failing or has failed, or verify it is working. And for most users, that is best done by swapping in a spare, known good PSU to see if the same problem occurs, or goes away.

If no spare PSU is available, or you don't feel comfortable digging around inside your computer, most shops will test your PSU for a nominal fee, or even free. Alternatively and though not conclusive, you can also use a PSU Tester. They are useful for detecting PSUs that have already "failed". However, none of these testers test for ripple and other anomalies that affect computer stability. And they only provide a little "dummy load", not a variety of "realistic" loads needed for thorough testing. So while better than nothing, conclusive testing is done by a qualified technician using an oscilloscope or power supply analyzer - sophisticated (and expensive!) electronic test equipment requiring special training to operate, and a basic knowledge of electronics theory to understand the results. This is why swapping in a known good spare works best for most "normal" users.
 
Joined
Dec 18, 2018
Messages
10
I like to rule out the easy stuff first. I would try a different video card, or the on board video, if it has one
 

Digerati

Forum Moderator, Hardware
Staff member
Joined
Aug 28, 2012
Messages
3,763
Location
Nebraska, USA
I like to rule out the easy stuff first. I would try a different video card, or the on board video, if it has one
Again, even a different graphics card requires good power. If there is integrated graphics, I'll go along with checking that. Otherwise, I still recommend verifying power is good before swapping out cards.
 

referer

New member
Joined
Jan 25, 2019
Messages
1
Location
Australia
Have you tried replacing the power cord or VGA cable to your monitor? If cord is fine then try booting on integrated graphics or any other working graphics card.
 

Rich-M

Visiting Expert, Hardware
Joined
Jun 20, 2012
Messages
30
Location
NE Pa, USA
One issue I have is you have asked the question 3 times should the monitor light up if working even if you aren't receiving a video signal and the answer is y7es so if you plug in monitot and get no light at all from it then it is most likely bad. There are a few monitors that stubbornly go into Power Management and show no signs of life where yiou have to remove the power cord and press the power button several times to clear it then wait a half hour before putting it back and try it and I have seen a few Asus monitors that had reset buttons on them I didn't realize that have to be pressed before they will work so there may be others that do thew same thing..
 
Top