What's new

[SOLVED] How to do multi-gpu in Windows 10?

Solitario

Well-known member
Joined
Jun 23, 2015
Posts
194
Hello, first say that my motherboard is not SLI. I have 2 video boards, a gt710 and a gt730 and I would like to do multi-gpu but I don't know how. Well if anyone can help me very thankful in advance. Best regards.
 

softwaremaniac

Moderator, BSOD Kernel Dump Expert, Windows Update Instructor
Staff member
Joined
Oct 9, 2014
Posts
18,451
Location
Croatia
Hello!

In order to do an SLI build, you need to have an SLI compatible motherboard and two matching video cards. Ideally the same make, but the model has to be the same (except some cases).

Not to mention the videocard in itself has to support SLI, and these do not support it.
 

Solitario

Well-known member
Joined
Jun 23, 2015
Posts
194
Thank you very much for the answer! But it can also be done by software, right? Will it be possible with diretx 12? Best regards.
 

softwaremaniac

Moderator, BSOD Kernel Dump Expert, Windows Update Instructor
Staff member
Joined
Oct 9, 2014
Posts
18,451
Location
Croatia
If the hardware is incompatible, nothing will help.
 

softwaremaniac

Moderator, BSOD Kernel Dump Expert, Windows Update Instructor
Staff member
Joined
Oct 9, 2014
Posts
18,451
Location
Croatia
I think he meant that my explanation about it being incompatible helped him solve the issue by making him realize that it was not possible.
 

Digerati

Forum Moderator, Hardware
Staff member
Joined
Aug 28, 2012
Posts
3,765
Location
Nebraska, USA
I think he meant that my explanation about it being incompatible helped him solve the issue
That's likely but I didn't want to assume that since you can run multiple cards in a PC even if the mobo does not support SLI - if you want to run in a multi-monitor setup, for example, and extend your desktop across all the monitors.
 

softwaremaniac

Moderator, BSOD Kernel Dump Expert, Windows Update Instructor
Staff member
Joined
Oct 9, 2014
Posts
18,451
Location
Croatia
Yes, in that case, you can, but from what I understood, that's not what the OP is looking for.
 

Digerati

Forum Moderator, Hardware
Staff member
Joined
Aug 28, 2012
Posts
3,765
Location
Nebraska, USA
True. But sometimes we settle for alternatives that actually end up being better solutions in the long run.
 

Solitario

Well-known member
Joined
Jun 23, 2015
Posts
194
Hi, thank you very much. I solved the issue because it can not be done if there is no option in the hardware. Best regards.
 
Top