What's new

[SOLVED] Help w/ corrupt files caused by Windows update

joe4356

Well-known member
Joined
Aug 21, 2015
Posts
57
Windows edition: Windows 7 Home Premium, Service Pack 1

Hello,

Was hoping to get some guidance as to the following. Windows update process resulted in a few corrupt files causing very slow boot time as well as a number of other issues. Thought i would attach an sfcdetails file in hopes that someone might be able to provide some guidance as to how I could perhaps replace the corrupt versions of the affected files (as shown in the sfcdetails attachment) w/ versions that are in good and working order. Any help that can be provided is greatly appreciated! - Joe

PS: This is for a Toshiba laptop which did not come with a Windows installation disc.
 

Attachments

joe4356

Well-known member
Joined
Aug 21, 2015
Posts
57
Hello- Attached is the SCS Fix log as well as a link to the CBS folder. Also, I see Dropbox changed their link procedures since I last used it so if there are any issues with viewing the CBS folder, just let me know. Thanks much.


Dropbox - CBS.zip
 

Attachments

SleepyDude

Windows Update Moderator, Security Analyst
Staff member
Joined
Dec 20, 2013
Posts
1,294
Location
Portugal
Hi,

It doesn't seems that you run the SURT tool from step #3!

System Update Readiness Tool (SUR)

  • Download the System Update Readiness Tool (x64) and save it to some place, its a big download and eventually we need to run it several times, please keep the file
  • Run the tool. Its like an Update but it can take a long time to do the work. You will get an Installation Complete screen when it's done running
  • Please attach to your post the log from the following location: C:\Windows\Logs\CBS\CheckSUR.log
    Note:
    If the file is too big please Zip it and upload the ZIP file to a service like Dropbox, Google Drive, OneDrive or upload to SendSpace and just provide the link for the file here.
 

joe4356

Well-known member
Joined
Aug 21, 2015
Posts
57
Thanks, you are correct that I didn't run step #3. Reason being, when I read step #2, item 4..........
I thought it indicated to go on to step #4?


(Once the command finishes, if you see "Windows Resource Protection did not find any integrity violations" then please move on to Step #3.
If anything other than this appears, you may go directly to Step #4.)


However, I did as suggested and tried to complete step #3 but once downloaded, was unable to install (see .png attachment) due to error code 0x800700d.


Have also attached snippit pics of sfc /scannow results and SCFFix results in case they are helpful. Just let me know what you need me to do next. Thank you
 

Attachments

SleepyDude

Windows Update Moderator, Security Analyst
Staff member
Joined
Dec 20, 2013
Posts
1,294
Location
Portugal
Hi,

In your case the sfc /scannow found errors "windows resource protection found corrupt files but was unable to fix some of them." that's why is recommended to run the SUR tool.

The error you got with SURT is usually associated with a bad download! Try to download the msu file again and save it in a different location, using a different browser to download sometimes helps...


Maybe there are other errors but lets start by fixing the ones listed in the logs...

SFCFix Script

!!! WARNING !!! The following fix is only relevant for this system and no other, applying this fix on another computer will not work and most likely will cause problems...

  • Download SFCFix.exe (by Niemiro) and save it to the Desktop
  • Download the file SFCFIX.ZIP, attached below, and save this to your Desktop
  • On your Desktop, make sure you have the two files:
    SFCFix.exe and
    SFCFIX.zip
  • Drag the file SFCFIX.zip onto the file SFCFix.exe and release it
  • The SFCFix tool will process the script
  • Upon completion, a log file SFCFix.txt should be created on your Desktop
  • Open the SFCFix.txt log and copy & paste the contents to your post

After applying the fix try to run the SUR tool using a fresh downloaded file. Please report the result.
 

Attachments

Last edited:

joe4356

Well-known member
Joined
Aug 21, 2015
Posts
57
I have tried a few times to get the SUR tool to install (seems to download fine) but regardless of where I save the file, or which browser I use to download it, when I go to install I am getting this same error code (see .png file). If you want me to continue to try to download/install again, I can continue to work at it or if it's on to next steps, let me know. Thank you



 

Attachments

SleepyDude

Windows Update Moderator, Security Analyst
Staff member
Joined
Dec 20, 2013
Posts
1,294
Location
Portugal
Hi,

We have to work on that SUR problem but first can you run sfc /scannow and report the result.
 

SleepyDude

Windows Update Moderator, Security Analyst
Staff member
Joined
Dec 20, 2013
Posts
1,294
Location
Portugal
Hi,

Looks good. Can you run SFC /scannow one more time please, if worked as expected it should say "No integrity violations found" or similar.


Download MiniToolBox and save the file to the Desktop.
Run the tool, check the following options:
  • List last 10 Event Viewer Errors
  • List Devices (select Only Problems)
  • List Restore Points
Click on Go.

Post the resulting log in your next reply.


Farbar Service Scanner (FSS)
Let's check some windows critical services...

Download Farbar Service Scanner
  • Run FSS
  • Check all the options
  • click Scan

Post the generated log in your reply.
 

SleepyDude

Windows Update Moderator, Security Analyst
Staff member
Joined
Dec 20, 2013
Posts
1,294
Location
Portugal
Hi,

Any problems connecting to the internet lately?


Install Update using Dism

  1. Please download KB2632503 https://download.microsoft.com/download/7/E/F/7EF75D39-F8B4-4401-8F8C-A2AB52673D0D/Windows6.1-KB2632503-x64.msu save the file to c:\windows\temp
  2. change the name of the update file to a smaller name Windows6.1-KB2632503-x64.msu
    (keep the extension .msu in the end of the file name in case its visible if not ignore that)
  3. open the Command Prompt as Administrator (Tutorial)
  4. type or Copy & Paste the following commands line by line:

    cd /d c:\windows\temp
    expand Windows6.1-KB2632503-x64.msu -f:* C:\windows\temp
    DISM.exe /Online /Add-Package /PackagePath:C:\windows\temp\Windows6.1-KB2632503-x64.cab

  5. You should receive the message:
    The operation completed successfully.
    Restart Windows to complete this operation.
    Do you want to restart the computer now (Y/N)?
  6. Make sure to allow the computer to restart if prompted.

    If you receive any other message:
  7. Right-click on the Command Prompt window and click Select All, this will invert all of the colours by selecting the text, now press enter. All of this text is now copied.
  8. Paste (Ctrl+V) it into your next post please.
 
Last edited:

joe4356

Well-known member
Joined
Aug 21, 2015
Posts
57
Have not had any problems connecting to the internet but continue to get the HD failure pop-up (see HD.png attachment) sporadically. I believe that to be false though as the same thing happened back in 2015 when I got this false warning resolved via this forum.

As an FYI, I should also note that before requesting help here, I did purchase a new hard drive and installed it but was getting the exact same false pop-up warning so I removed it and went back to the original hard drive. I am not positive on this but given there were no issues with this pop-up warning until I downloaded and ran Glary Utilities in an attempt to clean up the registry, I can't help but wonder if it is related to that.

As to the Install Update using Dism

The 1st try attachment shows what I got when I downloaded the Windows6.1-KB2632503-x64.msu file and renamed it w/ the msu extension. When it downloads, it appears as follows: Windows6.1-KB2632503-x64

The 2nd try attachment shows what I got when I just downloaded the Windows6.1-KB2632503-x64 file and did not rename it. So, currently, I am at a stop at the end of step 4. Just let me know where to go next. Thanks a lot
 

Attachments

SleepyDude

Windows Update Moderator, Security Analyst
Staff member
Joined
Dec 20, 2013
Posts
1,294
Location
Portugal
Hi,

The disk error is something you shouldn't ignore! make sure you have backups of all your files.

The hard disk problem may explain the errors and the problems running SURT!


On my instructions I did a mistake, sorry!

On the DISM step the correct command is:
Code:
DISM.exe  /Online  /Add-Package  /PackagePath:C:\windows\temp\Windows6.1-KB2632503-x64.cab
Let me know the result.
 
Last edited:

joe4356

Well-known member
Joined
Aug 21, 2015
Posts
57
Wasn't able to complete the install (see attachment).

I did back up everything a few days ago just in case though. Laptop diagnostics says device working properly (see attachment). FYI, issue began when attempted to do a Windows update in 2015 which corrupted a file or something resulting in this sporadic warning but whatever I was instructed to do back in 2015 made it disappear up until 1-10-19, when it started again which was also after running the Glary Utilities program. So, whether running that program triggered the issue again, I don't know.

Let me know how you want me to proceed. Thanks
 

Attachments

SleepyDude

Windows Update Moderator, Security Analyst
Staff member
Joined
Dec 20, 2013
Posts
1,294
Location
Portugal
Hi,

That window with the HDD information will not show you any indication of problems with the drive!


Lets check the HDD health, please execute the following:

GSmartControl
Follow the instructions below to test your hard drive health with GSmartControl:

  • Download GSmartControl and save it on your Desktop;
  • Extract the content of the GSmartControl .zip archive and execute gsmartcontrol.exe; To extract you can right-click your mouse on the GSmartControl.zip file and select Extract.
  • Identify your drive in the list, and double-click on it to bring up it's window (usually you'll find your drive by it's size or it's brand name);
  • Go in the Perform Tests tab, then select Extended Self-test in the Test type drop-down list and click on Execute (this test can take a few hours to complete);
  • Once the test is over, the results will be displayed at the bottom of the window. Please copy and paste these results in your next reply;
  • Also, go in the Attributes tab and if you have any entries highlighted in red or pink, copy and paste their name in your next reply (or take a screenshot of the GSmartControl window and attach it in your next reply);
 
Last edited:

joe4356

Well-known member
Joined
Aug 21, 2015
Posts
57
I ran the Extended Self-test 3 times just to see if results were any different as it was only taking about 1 minute to run as opposed to the estimated 3 hours and 7 minutes it says is the 'estimated time to run'. Attributes section just indicates the 1 issue with 'reallocated sector count'. Thanks
 

Attachments

SleepyDude

Windows Update Moderator, Security Analyst
Staff member
Joined
Dec 20, 2013
Posts
1,294
Location
Portugal
Hi,

The disk looks bad! the Extended Self-test only last for a minute because according with the first image the test failed with only 10% done!


I have doubts that you will get a different result using other tool but if you want to try the WD Data Lifeguard Diagnostic will work for other disk brands but the tool will not provide any "repair option" because isn't a WD HDD. Right click on the drive to access the diagnostic options.
Software and Firmware Downloads | WD Support
 

joe4356

Well-known member
Joined
Aug 21, 2015
Posts
57
Attached is the WD result, says 'may be repairable'. Any thoughts as to a utility that might be able to repair the bad sector? Thanks
 

Attachments

SleepyDude

Windows Update Moderator, Security Analyst
Staff member
Joined
Dec 20, 2013
Posts
1,294
Location
Portugal
Hi,

The image show a Repair button try it! I didn't expect the software to show that when the HDD tested is not from WesterDigital...
 
Top