What's new

controller error on \Device\Harddisk1\DR1

Docfxit

Contributor
Joined
Feb 22, 2015
Messages
121
I'm getting many of these errors in Event Viewer:
The driver detected a controller error on \Device\Harddisk1\DR1

I found when I run chkdsk /f /r within windows normal mode it lets me know it requires a reboot to run it. (As expected)

When I do a reboot chkdsk doesn't run. I get an error saying:

Code:
Autochk cannot run due to an error caused by a recently installed software package
An unspecified error occurred (766f6c756d652e63 3f1).
I have run chkdsk on this partition a couple times before. I booted up into the second OS installed on this drive and ran chkdsk on this partition once again. The results are:


Windows has checked the file system and found no problems.
I have run chkntfs c: and it said the drive is not dirty.

I have run Seatools Long Drive Test from a bootable USB. It passed with no problems.
I have updated the hard drive driver.
I have the latest BIOS installed.
According to Partition Magic the partitions are aligned.
I have no firewall running.
I have no antivirus.
I'm running

Windows 7 Ultimate 64-bit SP1
System Information is here:
http://speccy.piriform.com/results/L8MZDYK8v4enZ7NjX7Hbocn
I have run sfc /scannow and it found no errors.
I have Uninstalled ZoneAlarm firewall Pro with Total Uninstall.
I have run the ZoneAlarm Uninstall tool.
I have deleted leftover ZoneAlarm files/folders.
I have deleted leftover Registry entries.
I have Uninstalled Bitdefender 2019 antivirus with Total Uninstall.
I have run the Bitdefender Uninstall tool.
I have deleted leftover Bitdefender files/folders.
I have deleted leftover Registry entries.
I have installed/updated/ran Malwarebytes.


How can I figure out what is causing the controller error on \Device\Harddisk1\DR1 ?
How can I figure out why chkdsk won't run on the reboot?
How can I figure out why I can't install Bitdefender Antivirus?
How can I figure out why I can't install ZoneAlarm firewall Pro?


Docfxit
 

softwaremaniac

Moderator, BSOD Kernel Dump Expert, Windows Update Instructor
Staff member
Joined
Oct 9, 2014
Messages
18,405
Location
Croatia
Hello!

The possible cause can also be the outdated or missing SATA AHCI drivers. Please install them. I'm not sure if that's what you mean by HDD driver.
 

Docfxit

Contributor
Joined
Feb 22, 2015
Messages
121
I thought I did update the drivers.
I see now the drive I am booted to is:
931GB Seagate ST1000DX 001-1CM162
DriverDetailsDocfxit2.jpg
I installed Lenovo M910T driver:
LenovoSATAAHCIHardDrive_n1xio08w.exe

Double Driver shows this driver is installed:
SATADriverDocfxi2.jpg
Driver Identifier says the latest version is 15.9.4.1041 Which did get installed with the file I installed n1xio08w.exe
Lenovo web site shows this version is available 15.7.0.1014 17 May 2017, And I had that version installed with the same results.

Thanks for the suggestion,

Docfxit
 

Digerati

Forum Moderator, Hardware
Staff member
Joined
Aug 28, 2012
Messages
3,760
Location
Nebraska, USA
You have a lot of 3rd party apps running that modify Windows. Are those recent additions or did everything work fine with all those programs already installed?

Is that the boot drive you are having problems with. Typically the boot drive is Drive 0 and that says Drive 1. Have you tried running chkdsk in Safe Mode?

Also, for future reference, you don't need both the /r and /f switch in the syntax. If you run chkdsk /? you will see /r "implies" (or includes) /f.
 

Docfxit

Contributor
Joined
Feb 22, 2015
Messages
121
You have a lot of 3rd party apps running that modify Windows. Are those recent additions or did everything work fine with all those programs already installed?
As far as I know they all worked. I noticed this problem when I couldn't install Bitdefender and ZoneAlarm.

Is that the boot drive you are having problems with. Typically the boot drive is Drive 0 and that says Drive 1. Have you tried running chkdsk in Safe Mode?
When I tried troubleshooting controller error on \Device\Harddisk0\DR0 I found someone else that resolved the error by replacing the hard drive cable. What I did was swap drive one with drive two. That also proved the motherboard isn't the problem. When I swapped the cable between drive 1 and drive 2 the problem moved from controller error on \Device\Harddisk0\DR0
to
controller error on \Device\Harddisk1\DR1
I can swap it back easily. I didn't want to swap it while this thread was still open.

I have run chkdsk while booted from a Windows 7 install CD in recovery mode.


Also, for future reference, you don't need both the /r and /f switch in the syntax. If you run chkdsk /? you will see /r "implies" (or includes) /f.
I have seen that. I didn't understand why so many people still use both. I will now stop using both.

Now I would love to hear suggestions on how to resolve the controller error.

Thanks,

Docfxit
 

softwaremaniac

Moderator, BSOD Kernel Dump Expert, Windows Update Instructor
Staff member
Joined
Oct 9, 2014
Messages
18,405
Location
Croatia
What error do you get when trying to install ZA or BitDef?
 

Digerati

Forum Moderator, Hardware
Staff member
Joined
Aug 28, 2012
Messages
3,760
Location
Nebraska, USA
I have seen that. I didn't understand why so many people still use both. I will now stop using both.
For sure, it is no big deal. Chkdsk just ignores the /f command switch when it sees /r. That is, it does not run it twice.

I have run chkdsk while booted from a Windows 7 install CD in recovery mode.
And it ran and completed with no problems?

Do you see any errors in Device Manager?

FTR, I stopped using ZA years ago when they started bundling all sorts of extra stuff in it no one really needed. Besides, Windows Firewall is a perfectly capable firewall and its already in there. Is ZA something you just like, or do you feel you need it? If you feel you need it, why? I note you also want to use BitDefender. What other security?
 

Docfxit

Contributor
Joined
Feb 22, 2015
Messages
121
What error do you get when trying to install ZA or BitDef?
I don't get any error. When I launch the program either in normal mode or Run as Administrator. Nothing starts. There is nothing in the system tray. Nothing in Processes. No window opens.

Thanks,
Docfxit
 

Docfxit

Contributor
Joined
Feb 22, 2015
Messages
121
I have run chkdsk while booted from a Windows 7 install CD in recovery mode.
And it ran and completed with no problems?
It found no problems.

Do you see any errors in Device Manager?
There are no problems. It looks clean. I have added this to the registry:
REG ADD "HKCU\Environment" /V devmgr_show_nonpresent_devices /T REG_SZ /D 1 /F

REG ADD "HKLM\SYSTEM\CurrentControlSet\Control\Session Manager\Environment" /V devmgr_show_nonpresent_devices /T REG_SZ /D 1 /F

I have removed nonpresent devices in all areas.

FTR, I stopped using ZA years ago when they started bundling all sorts of extra stuff in it no one really needed. Besides, Windows Firewall is a perfectly capable firewall and its already in there. Is ZA something you just like, or do you feel you need it? If you feel you need it, why? I note you also want to use BitDefender. What other security?
I have also found ZoneLabs added a lot to ZoneAlarm Total Security. I don't like it.
I'm not using it. I use ZoneAlarm Firewall Pro. I have found it is far superior to windows firewall.
I run a lot of different programs. I test a lot of programs. I support a lot of people running XP, Win7, Ubuntu, Win10. ZoneAlarm catches programs that should be allowed and shouldn't be allowed. It shows me both and allows me to choose how to handle them. The windows firewall blocks some programs and takes me longer to manage them. I can see with ZoneAlarm what has been blocked. I can't see what Windows firewall has blocked. ZoneAlarm is easier and faster to use.
I use Bitdefender Antivirus. I don't use Bitdefender Total Security. I don't like it. Bitdefender Antivirus does catch a lot of problems that other antivirus programs don't catch. At the moment it stops more than it should and I am working with them to tame that down. It is very configurable and doesn't slow down the computer as much as other antivirus programs.

Thanks,

Docfxit
 

Docfxit

Contributor
Joined
Feb 22, 2015
Messages
121
I tried running SuperAntivirus Pro. When I launched it nothing opened. No errors. Nothing in the system tray. Nothing in Processes. I renamed the install program to testing.exe. It installed. It found one in this folder:
C_\Users\Gary\AppData\Local\rtaodmx
I did not let SuperAntivirus delete the file rtaodmx.exe. I used Total Uninstaller by selecting File, Add a program to the list. I pasted the path into the window. It removed all the registry and files associated with the program.
I have tried again to run Bitdefender. It's installing now.

I'm still trying to figure out why I'm getting this error in event viewer:
[h=2]controller error on \Device\Harddisk1\DR1[/h]
Thanks,

Docfxit
 

Digerati

Forum Moderator, Hardware
Staff member
Joined
Aug 28, 2012
Messages
3,760
Location
Nebraska, USA
I use ZoneAlarm Firewall Pro. I have found it is far superior to windows firewall.
Ummm, it should be noted firewall technologies are nothing special, or proprietary. So while ZA may have more features and the UI may allow users who are used to it to more easily set up custom rules, when it comes to blocking ports, ZA is, in no way, superior to other firewalls, including Windows firewall. I am not promoting Windows Firewall. I am just saying don't exclude it because you think it is inferior when it comes to security.

If me, I would uninstall ZA and your other security program, and undue other custom changes you have made and just use Windows Firewall and Windows Defender and see what happens. If no change, then add your favorite programs back in, one at a time.

Back to your controller issue - it has me puzzled. By no means am I a Windows expert. I'm actually a certified electronics technician and have made a long career out of avoiding programming. While out of necessity I have learned my way around the Registry, I don't dink with much. So I'm out of my wheelhouse with your change. Sorry.
 
Top